The mission of the VCSU Community School of the Arts
is to provide quality programs in the arts
to members of Valley City and the surrounding communities,
regardless of age, gender, race, or physical or financial ability.

Click to zoom


The VCSU Community School of the Arts was founded in 1994 as a Preparatory Department affiliated with Valley City State University. In 1996 the Preparatory Department was expanded into a Community School of the Arts, and in 1999 the Community School became a fully certified member of the National Guild for Community Arts Education. Since its inception, the Community School of the Arts has made the arts a more visible and integral part of Valley City and the surrounding communities.

The Community School of the Arts provides the citizens of Valley City and the surrounding communities with access to a variety of arts programs. Operating under the belief that the arts are an important and essential ingredient to any healthy and appealing community, the Community School seeks to offer a variety of programs in music, the visual arts, the literary arts and drama. A scholarship program aids in the effort to make the arts accessible to as many people as possible. The ever-changing curriculum reflects the desires and needs of the community as well as the contribution the Community School makes to nurturing a lifetime of learning and involvement with the arts.

The VCSU Community School of the Arts has had a tremendous impact on the arts in North Dakota as students from 40 communities have participated in our activities.

  • Buchanan
  • Buffalo
  • Carrington
  • Cooperstown
  • Dazey
  • Dickey
  • Enderlin
  • Erie
  • Fargo
  • Fingal
  • Forman
  • Fort Ransom
  • Fullerton
  • Glyndon
  • Grand Forks
  • Hannaford
  • Hope
  • Jamestown
  • Kathryn
  • LaMoure
  • Langdon
  • Lisbon
  • Litchville
  • Luverne
  • Marion
  • McLeod
  • Milnor
  • New Rockford
  • Nome
  • Nortonville
  • Oakes
  • Oriska
  • Page
  • Rogers
  • Sanborn
  • Sibley
  • Spiritwood
  • Tower City
  • Valley City
  • Verona
  • Wimbledon